You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Washington State News Sources Online

Washington State News Sources Online

Prepared by Mary Whisner & Michael Umberger, Jan. 18, 2011. Last updated Apr. 25, 2012.

About

Legal researchers can use news sources for many purposes -- for instance, to find a profile of a lawyer or judge, to read contemporary accounts of trials, to see what legislators told reporters about bills, and to follow the debate on initiatives.

Much of our state's record is now available online, in a mix of commercial and free sources. There is good coverage after the mid-1990s (when the Web took off) and before 1922 (material that is now in the public domain). With the exception of the The Seattle Times, there is scant online coverage for the intervening years. Researchers will still need to use microfilm collections in libraries.

This guide lists online sources for dozens of newspapers, radio stations, and television stations in Washington State. It is still a work in progress: it does not include all radio and television websites and it does not yet have links for some of the smaller newspapers. The guide does not always indicate how far back publications post their archives on their websites.

This guide focuses on sources that originate in Washington State. Researchers should bear in mind that Washington events are often covered elsewhere, so searching in publications from outside the state can be fruitful.

For other current news and commentary, see Law-Related Blogs in Washington State.

Table of Online Sources for Washington State Newspapers by Region*

NORTHWEST, GENERALLY

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted); 
Washington State Newsstand

AP Alert - Washington Statewide APALERTWA (11/2003-) W
AP State & Regional Wires - Washington State Statewide WASH;WANEWS group file includes
AP State & Regional Wires - Washington Stories
Northwest Asian Weekly Statewide
ENWNWAZ (1/2000-) W
Northwest Construction Statewide NEWS;NWCONS (1998-12/10) NWCONST (12/2003-) W
Pacific Builder and Engineer Statewide PACBLDRENGR (10/1/2004-4/2009) W

KING COUNTY

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)
Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand
Auburn Reporter (PNW**) Auburn
Bellevue Reporter (PNW) Bellevue
The Bellevue Scene (PNW) Bellevue
Bothell/Kenmore Reporter (PNW) Bothell;
Kenmore
Covington-Maple Valley Reporter (PNW) Covington;
Maple Valley
Crosscut
Seattle
Eastside Journal Bellevue x (1994-97)
Enumclaw Courier Herald (PNW) Enumclaw NEWS;ENUMCL (8/23/2006-5/24/08); LNA
Federal Way Mirror (PNW) Federal Way

Issaquah & Sammamish Reporter (PNW)

Issaquah;
Sammamish
Kent Reporter (PNW) Kent
King County Journal Bellevue
Kent
x (12/03/1999-
1/21/2007)
Kirkland Reporter (PNW) Kirkland x (4/09/2008-)
Mercer Island Reporter (PNW) Mercer Island x (1995-96)
Newcastle News Newcastle
Real Change Seattle
Puget Sound Business Journal Seattle
PUGETSNDBSJ (1/2006-) W;
PUGETBUSJ-ABS (abstracts,
1/21/1985-) W
x (1985-2004)

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

Publicola (web-only) (1/2009-) Seattle
Redmond Reporter (PNW) Redmond
Renton Reporter (PNW) Renton
Seattle Examiner (web-only) Seattle x (4/07/2008-)
The Seattle Medium Seattle
Seattle Post-Intelligencer (print ceased
March 27, 2009; now online only)
Seattle NEWS;SEAPIN (1/2/1986-3/17/2009); LNA STLPI (1/1990-) W x (1/1/1986-) x (1990-2009)
Seattle Times (formerly Seattle Daily
Times & Seattle Sunday Times)
Seattle
KRT-SEATTMS (1/1989-) W;
STLTI (1/1989-) W

x (1/1/1985-)
blogs: 5/19/2009-

x (1984-2008)
Seattle Weekly Seattle NEWS;SEWKLY (1/4/1999-); LNA
Snoqualmie Valley Record (PNW) Snoqualmie
South County Journal Kent
x (7/1997-8/97)
The Stranger Seattle STRANGER (4/2003-) W
Tukwila Reporter (PNW) Tukwila
Valley Daily News Kent x (1991-97)
The Valley View Woodinville
Vashon - Maury Island Beachcomber
(PNW)
Vashon-Maury
Island
The Woodinville Weekly & Northlake News Woodinville

PIERCE & THURSTON COUNTIES

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

Bonney Lake-Sumner Courier-Herald
(
Bonney Lake & Lake Tapps Courier-Herald) (PNW)
Bonney Lake;
Sumner
NEWS;BONNEY (8/2006-);

LNA

Business Examiner Tacoma
The Dispatch Eatonville
The News Tribune Tacoma
MNTTCMA (10/2004-) W x (1/01/1992-) x (1993-2012)
Nisqually Valley News Yelm
The Olympian Olympia
OLYMPIAN (1/2006-) W

x (1/1/2001-)
blogs: 1/01/2006-

Peninsula Gateway Gig Harbor x (12/13/2006-)
Puyallup Herald Puyallup x (9/20/2007-)
Tacoma Daily Index (PNW) Tacoma
Tacoma Examiner (web-only) Tacoma x (2/24/2009-)

OLYMPIC PENINSULA

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

Bainbridge Island Review (PNW) Bainbridge
Island
x (10/14/1999-)
Belfair Herald Shelton
Bremerton Patriot (PNW) Bremerton
Central Kitsap Reporter (PNW) Silverdale
Daily World Online archive 5/1997- Aberdeen x (1/20/2005-)
Forks Forum (PNW) Forks
Hood Canal Beacon Shelton
Kingston Community News (PNW) Kingston
Kitsap Navy News Bremerton x (3/31/2011-)
Kitsap Sun

Bremerton

KITSAPSUN (9/2009-) W

x (1/01/1997-)
blogs: 12/06/2005-

North Kitsap Herald (PNW) Poulsbo
Northwest Navigator (split into Kitsap
Navy News & Whidbey Crosswind)
Kitsap
Peninsula
x (9/30/2004-
3/24/2011)
Peninsula Daily News Port Angeles x (1994-97)
Port Orchard Independent (PNW) Port Orchard
Sequim Gazette Sequim
Shelton-Mason County Journal Shelton
The Vidette Montesano x (8/23/2007-)

NORTH PUGET SOUND (San Juan Islands, Skagit, Snohomish, Whatcom, Whidbey Island)

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

Arlington Times (PNW**) Arlington
Bellingham Business Journal
Web archive 3/2005-
Bellingham BELLINGHAMBJ (9/1/2007-) W x (4/01/2005-)
Bellingham Herald Online archive 2000-;
searching free but access is pay
Bellingham

x (9/4/1999-)
blogs: 9/14/2007-

x blog (8/2009-9/10)
Edmonds Beacon Edmonds NEWS;EDBEAC (11/30/2006-5/7/08); LNA
The Herald (aka The Daily Herald) Everett NEWS;DLYHLD (9/30/2011-) HERALDWA (12/2004-) x (8/16/2005-) x (2001-)
Islands' Sounder (PNW) San Juan Islands
Islands' Weekly (PNW) San Juan Islands
Journal of the San Juans (PNW) San Juan Islands
Marysville Globe (PNW) Marysville
Mukilteo Beacon Mukilteo NEWS;MUKILT (11/22/2006-); LNA
Palestine Chronicle (web-only) Mountlake Terrace WORLD;PALCHR (1/18/2008-) PALESTCHRON (5/2003-) x (6/18/2008-) x (2008-2012)
Skagit Valley Herald Mount Vernon SKAGITVHRLD (2/2009-) W x (7/31/2007-)
South Whidbey Record (PNW) Whidbey Island
Whidbey Crosswind Whidbey Island x (3/31/2011-)
Whidbey News Times (PNW) Whidbey Island

SOUTHWEST WASHINGTON

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

Chinook Observer Long Beach x (8/5/2002-)
Chronicle Centralia CHRONICLEWA (2/6/2009-) x (10/31/2002-)
The Columbian Vancouver NEWS;COLMBN (5/26/1994-); LNA COLUMBIAWA (1/2000-) W x (6/01/1994-)
Daily News Longview
Vancouver Business Journal Vancouver x (3/01/2002-
10/08/2004)
The Wahkiakum County Eagle Cathlamet

CENTRAL WASHINGTON

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

Columbia Basin Herald Moses Lake x (4/6/2004-)
The Daily Record Ellensburg DLYRECORDWA (9/14/2011-) x (1/4/2000-)
The Enterprise White Salmon
The Goldendale Sentinel Goldendale
Mattawa Area News Mattawa NEWS;MATAWA (10/11/2006-1/10/07)
News & Standard Coulee City
Okanogan Valley Gazette-Tribune (PNW) Oroville
Quad City Herald Brewster
The Quincy Valley Post-Register Quincy Valley
South County Sun Royal City
The Star Grand Coulee
Tri-City Herald Kennewick;
Pasco;
Richland

BSX-TRICTY (1/2003-) x (2/21/06-) x (2006-)
Wenatchee Business Journal Wenatchee WENATCHEEB (9/1/2007-) x (8/15/2009-)
Wenatchee World Wenatchee BSX-WENWLD (2/10/2009-) W x (1/27/1992-) x (1991-97)
Wine Press Northwest Kennewick x (1/14/2008-)
Yakima Examiner (web-only) Yakima x (10/03/2009-)
Yakima Herald-Republic Yakima
YAKIMAHRLD (8/2008-) W x (12/10/1997-) x (12/10/1997-)

EASTERN WASHINGTON

 

Publication

Includes link to website if available.

 

 

Location

 

LexisNexis

LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic


 

Westlaw (Law School Version)

W = database is included in WANEWS group database

 

NewsBank 
Access World News
(UW Restricted)

 

Proquest Newsstand
(
UW Restricted);  
Washington State Newsstand

The Boomerang! (website not current) Palouse NEWS;BOMRAG (9/07/2006-12/4/08);

LNA

Cheney Free Press Cheney
Deer Park Tribune Deer Park x (2/04/2009-)
Journal of Business Spokane
JBUSSPOKE (1/2000-) W x (1999-)
Lewiston Morning Tribune (serves
Pullman and Clarkston)
Lewiston, ID NEWS;LEWMT (6/1/1990-); LNA LEWISTONTRIB (2/10/2009-) x (1/1/1998-)
The Othello Outlook Othello
The Ritzville-Adams County Journal Ritzville
Spokane Examiner (web-only) Spokane x (8/29/2008-)
Spokesman-Review Spokane WASH;SPOKSR (2/12/1997-,
plus selected articles 1994-96); LNA
KRT-SPOKESR (1/1/2004-, plus selected coverage 10/1998-2003);
SPKS-REV (1/1/2004-, + selected coverage 10/1998-2003) W
x (7/1/94-) x (1991-)
Statesman-Examiner Colville x (6/4/2008-)
Walla Walla Union-Bulletin Walla Walla WALLAWALLA (12/2008-) W x (11/10/2008-)

* Regional groupings are adapted from the Washington State Department of Transportation's Region Map.
** PNW = paper is included in PNW Local News site for combined searches.
† The University Libraries no longer subscribes to Washington State Newsstand as a separate collection; Washington newspapers are available within the ProQuest Newsstand. We include the Washington State Newsstand name here as a convenience for researchers who use other libraries, such as Seattle Public Library, that do subscribe to it.

Table of Sources for Washington Television and Radio Broadcasters

 

Broadcaster

LexisNexis
LNA = file is also in LexisNexis Academic

Westlaw
(Law School Version)

W = database is included in
WANEWS group database

NewsBank Access World News
(UW Restricted)
KING5.com (Seattle) (NBC affiliate) NBC5KING-WA (11/04/2005-) W x (1/25/2007-
5/15/2010)
KIRO TV (Seattle) (CBS affiliate) CBS7KIRO-WA (11/4/2005-) W x (1/26/2007-
5/15/2010)
KOMOnews.com (Seattle) (ABC affiliate) ABC4KOMO-WA (11/4/2005-) W x (1/26/2007-
5/16/2010)
KPLU-FM 88.1 (Tacoma) (NPR affiliate)
KUOW-FM 94.9 (Seattle) (NPR affiliate)
NorthWest Cable News (a/k/a Independent - 2 NWCN) IND2NWCN-WA (11/4/2005-) W x (1/28/2007-
5/14/2010)
Q13fox.com (KCPQ) (Seattle-Tacoma) (Fox affiliate) FOX13KCPQ-WA (11/4/2005-) W x (1/23/2007-
5/15/2010; 2/16/2011-)

Table of Historical Sources for Washington State Newspapers

Publication (coverage pre-1922)

Washington State Archives,
Historic Newspapers in Washington.
Chronicling America
(Library of Congress)
America's Historical Newspapers
(UW Restricted)
Cayton's Monthly (Seattle) link (1921)
Cayton's Weekly (Seattle) link (1917-20)
The Colfax Gazette link (1900-12)
Columbian (Olympia) x (1852-53)
The Colville Examiner link (1907-22)
The Commonwealth (Everett) link (1911)
The Co-operative News (Everett) link (1917-18)
Industrial Freedom (Edison) link (1898-1901)
The Islander (Friday Harbor) link (1891-98)
Leavenworth Echo (online archive 2007-) link 1904-22
Lynden Pioneer Press x (1888-90)
Morning Olympian (Olympia)
(includes Daily Olympian & Morning Olympian Tribune)
x (1891-1900)
Northern Star (Snohomish) x (1876-79)
The Northwest Worker (Everett) link (1915-17)
Pioneer and Democrat (Olympia) x (1854-61)
Puget Sound Courier (Steilacoom) x (1855-56)
Puget Sound Herald (Steilacoom) x (1858-64)
Puget Sound Mail (La Conner) x (1879-84)
Puget Sound Semi-Weekly (1866);
Puget Sound Weekly (1866-67);
Puget Sound Weekly Gazette (1867) (Seattle)
x (1866-67)
Puget Sound Weekly Argus (1876-82) &
Puget Sound Argus (1882-83) (Port Townsend)
x (1876-83)
The Pullman Herald link (1888-1922)
The Ranch (North Yakima) link (1894)
The Ranch (Seattle) link (1902-14)
Ranche and Range (North Yakima) link (1897-1902)
The Republican (Seattle) and The Daily Republican (Seattle) link (1896-98) and link(1896)
The San Juan Islander (Friday Harbor) link (1898-1914)
Seattle Gazette (1863-64); Seattle Weekly Gazette (1864-66) x (1863-66)
The Seattle Star link (1899-1910)
Seattle Times (formerly Seattle Daily Times &
Seattle Sunday Times)
x (1900-1984)
Spokane Falls Review x (1883-90)
Spokane Times
Tacoma Daily News x (1890-98)
The Tacoma Times (published 1903-49) link (1903-18)
Truth Teller (Steilacoom) x (1858-58)
Vancouver Register x (1865-69)
Walla Walla Statesman x (1864-65)
The Washington Farmer link (6/15/1914)
Washington Gazette (Seattle) x (1863-63)
Washington Pioneer (Olympia) x (1853-54)
The Washington Socialist (Everett) link (1916-24)
Washington Statesman (Walla Walla) x (1861-64)
Weekly Argus (Port Townsend) x (1870-75)
Yakima Herald x (1889-92)

 

Historical Sources

Pacific Northwest Regional Newspaper and Periodical Index (created by UW Libraries)

The Regional Index contains citations from hundreds of newspapers and periodicals as well as monographs, theses, dissertations, scrapbooks, pamphlets and other ephemera dealing with all aspects of life in Seattle, Washington state and the Pacific Northwest from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. The Regional Index began as a card file in 1936. A retrospective conversion project was initiated in 2000 to make the index accessible online. At the present time, more than 116,000 citations are searchable and hundreds of citations are being added each week. The complete index is located in Special Collections (Allen Library South Basement).

America's Historical Newspapers (UW Restricted)

Includes Morning Olympian (1891-1900); Seattle Daily Times (1900-84); Tacoma Daily News (1890-98).

Washington State Archives, Historic Newspapers in Washington. As of Jan. 2011, includes newspapers from:

  • La Conner (Puget Sound Mail, 1879-84)
  • Lynden (Lynden Pioneer Press, 1888-90)
  • Olympia (Columbian, 1852-53; Washington Pioneer, 1853-54; Pioneer and Democrat, 1854-61)
  • Port Townsend (Weekly Argus, 1870-75; Puget Sound Weekly Argus, 1876-82; Puget Sound Argus, 1882-83)
  • Seattle (Washington Gazette, 1863-63; Seattle Gazette, 1863-64; Seattle Weekly Gazette, 1864-66; Puget Sound Semi-Weekly, 1866-66; Puget Sound Weekly, 1866-67; Puget Sound Weekly Gazette, 1867-67)
  • Snohomish (Northern Star, 1876-79)
  • Spokane (Spokane Times, 1879-82; Spokane Falls Review, 1883-90)
  • Steilacoom (Puget Sound Courier, 1855-56; Puget Sound Herald, 1858-64; Truth Teller, 1858-58)
  • Vancouver (Vancouver Register (1865-69)
  • Walla Walla (Washington Statesman, 1861-64; Walla Walla Statesman, 1864-85)
  • Yakima (Yakima Herald, 1889-92)

Chronicling America is a project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities that is working to digitize pre-1922 newspapers from around the US. So far, it includes papers from
  • Colville (The Colville Examiner, 1907-22)
  • Edison (Industrial Freedom, 1898-1901)
  • Everett (The Co-operative News, 1917-18; The Northwest Worker, 1915-17; The Washington Socialist, 1916-24)
  • Friday Harbor (The Islander, 1891-98; The San Juan Islander, 1898-1914)
  • Leavenworth (Leavenworth Echo, 1904-22)
  • North Yakima (The Ranch, 1894; Ranche and Range, 1897-1902)
  • Pullman (Pullman Herald, 1888-1922)
  • Seattle (Cayton's Weekly, 1917-20; Cayton's Monthly, 1921; The Ranch, 1902-14; The Republican, 1896-98; The Seattle Star, 1899-1910)
  • Spokane (The Washington Farmer, one issue, 1914)
  • Tacoma (The Tacoma Times, 1903-18)
The Washington newspapers in Chronicling America are provided by the Washington State Library. A wiki about the project is here.
Filed under: , , ,

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout