You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Public Health Law Resources

Public Health Law Resources

Updated May 21, 2013.
Prepared by Nancy McMurrer. Updated by Rebecca Sherman, law librarianship intern (May 2013).

This guide links to free sites and to commercial online sources that are UW Restricted or that are restricted to users with individual passwords or who visit the UW Gallagher Law Library.


Online Databases

Bloomberg Law (UW Restricted)
Click on the practice centers tab and select "Health."

Social Science Research Network, Public Health Law & Policy
SSRN.PNG

WestlawNext (Law school subscribers)
Click on the topics tab and select "Health Law."

LexisNexis (Law school subscribers)
Search by topic for “Public Health & Welfare Law.”

Global Health Database (UW Restricted)
(CAB Direct) Bibliographic coverage of the literature in international public health.

PubMed Searches on Healthy People
Current PubMed searches on 600 public health objectives developed to improve the health status of the American population by 2020.

top


Research Guides

Georgetown Law Library, Health Law Research Guide

University of Chicago D’Angelo Law Library, Health Law Guide

Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, UCLA School of Law, Public Health Law Seminar Research Guide

University of Washington Health Sciences Library, Public Health Toolkit

top


Books

These titles are available in the Gallagher Law Library. Most are located in the Classified Stacks on Floor L1. Click on the linked call number to determine whether the book is currently check out. Many catalog records also include tables of contents.

International Law and Public Health: Material on and Analysis of Global Health Jurisprudence. K3570.F53 2000

Reconsidering Law and Policy Debates: A Public Health Perspective. KF3775 .R388 2011

The Law and the Public's Health. KF3775.W5 2007

Public Health Law and Ethics: A Reader. KF3775.P83 2010

Public Health Law: Power, Duty, Restraint. KF3775.G67 2008

Health Care Law and Ethics in a Nutshell. KF3821.Z9 H35 2011

Int'l law & pub. health book jacketlaw & the public's health book jacketPub. Health Law Reader book jacket

To find additional books on this topic, search the Law Library catalog with the following subject headings:

  • Public Health
  • Public Health Laws

Be sure to also look at the related subjects for material on more specific topics, including Health facilities, National health services, Social medicine, etc.

top


Treatises

Health Law Handbook. Westlaw

Health Law Practice Guide. Westlaw

Health Care Law: A Practical Guide. LexisNexis

Health Law. KF3821 .H4343 2000

top


Articles

Public Health Full Text Electronic Journals (UW Restricted)

American Journal of Law & Medicine (1989- ). Westlaw

Journal of Law, Medicine, & Ethics (1998- ). Westlaw

American Journal of Public Health (2000- ). Westlaw

Annals of Health Law (1992- ). Westlaw, LexisNexis

50 State Surveys - Health Law. Westlaw

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association (1998- ).

top


Dictionaries & EncyclopediasEncylopedia of Aging and Public Health

A Dictionary of Public Health, 2007.

International Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2008.

Encyclopedia of Public Health, Suzzallo Library First Floor Reference, WA 13 E566 2002.

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health, Bothell/CCC Reference, WT 104 E56 2008.

top


Washington State Resources

University of Washington School of Public Health

Washington State Department of Health
Links to various public health issues and services.
WA State Dept. of Health

Washington's Public Health Improvement Partnership
Works to improve and protect the health of people in Washington.

King County Public HealthNW Center for Pub. Health Prac.
Provides direct services and education to residents of Seattle and King County.

UW's Northwest Center for Public Health Practice
Provides resources for day-to-day public health practices.

Washington State Courts, Public Health Emergency Bench Book

top


U.S. Federal AgenciesCDC logo

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The leading federal agency for promoting and protecting public health and safety.
See also the CDC’s Public Health Law Program and the Emergency Preparedness & Response sites.

Health Resources and Services Administration
Its mission is to expand access to comprehensive health care for all. Includes data, statistics, and national public health priorities.

National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Includes links to all of the affiliated institutes.

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
Coordinates a range of national disease prevention and health promotion activities such as dietary guidelines, physical activity guidelines, and health communication.

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Scroll down to Regulatory Information to see the laws and regulations that the FDA administers.
For information on bioterrorism, click on the Vaccines, Blood & Biologics tab and scroll down to Resources for You, Countering Bioterrorism.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
This agency participates in all sorts of disaster relief situations.
fema.JPG

top


Associations & Advocacy Groups

American Public Health Association
Includes links to public health issues by topic, fact sheets, and links to state and regional public health associations.

Association of Schools of Public Health
Represents accredited schools of public health and speaks on educational and public health policies.

Association of Public Health Laboratories
Public health laboratories have a major role in bioterrorism protection.

Public Health Law Center
Provides publications, resources, and webinars on various public health law issues.

Johns Hopkins and Georgetown Universities, Centers for Law and the Public's Health
Website contains model laws, research reports, and a full-text supplement to Public Health Law and Ethics: A Reader.

National Conference of State Legislatures, Health Committee

Georgetown University, Center on Medical Record Rights and Privacy
Focuses on topics related to consumer access and privacy protections of medical records.

American Council on Science and Health
National consumer health education and advocacy program covering public health issues. Note the browse by topic feature.

am. council on science & health logo

top


Current Awareness Tools

University of Washington Health Sciences Library, Podcasts in Medicine & Public Health

Health Law Reporter (1996- ), Bloomberg BNA

Health Care Policy Report (1996- ), Bloomberg BNA

Health Law Prof Blog

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout