You are here: Home Legal Research Guides People-Finding

People-Finding

Updated Dec. 18, 2014.
Prepared by Ann Hemmens; updated by Tanya Livshits (law librarianship intern, 2014).

This guide identifies selected print and online sources (free and fee-based) for locating directory information for people in the legal or government communities.

Some online sources are restricted to users who have passwords or to University of Washington faculty, students, staff and Library visitors. For example, Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, and Westlaw Next are available only to individual subscribers.

See also the Gallagher guide on Sample Searches for Networking & Informational Interviews.


Attorneys

Washington State

King County Lawyers' Directory, annual. KF193.K54; current edition available in the Reference Area & Reference Office
Published by the Daily Journal of Commerce, it contains an alphabetical listing by individual attorney and firm name.

WSBA.JPG

Washington State Bar Association's Lawyer Directory is a database of lawyers currently licensed to practice law in the state of Washington. The WSBA also maintains a database of disciplinary and non-disciplinary notices filed against attorneys from January 1997 to date. The database also indexes all disciplinary actions from 1984 to date.

FindLaw's Washington Lawyers, Attorneys, and Law Firms
An attorney directory organized by municipality and subsequently by subject

Westlaw Next: West's Legal Directory
Provides profiles and directory information for Washington State law firms and biographical records of Washington State attorneys.

United States

SourceAccessDescription
The American Bar free A selective directory of "only law firms with outstanding reputations."
Avvo free A nationwide directory with ratings and client reviews.
Bloomberg Law - People Search Bloomberg Law * Very selective. Includes only the attorneys, judges, and business executives that appear in the news or on court dockets with some frequency.
Cornell Legal Information Institute's Find a Lawyer free A nationwide directory, with browse options by metropolitan area, state, and practice area.
DexKnows free A collection of online directories including yellow pages (allowing state-specific searching by the categories "attorneys" and "attorneys by specialty"), white pages, toll-free numbers, and government listings. Check the Yellow Pages section of the phone book in your local area under the category "attorneys."
FindLaw's Lawyer Directory free Another nationwide directory of lawyers and law firms. (Formerly, the West Legal Directory.)
HG Legal ResourcesLaw Firms Worldwide free Includes U.S. firms.
Lawyer Locator free A nationwide directory of lawyers and law firms, with an alphabetical index of lawyers and a practice area index.
Legal Directories free Searchable directories of attorneys, law firms, and legal support businesses for all 50 states and U.S. Territories.
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory KF190.M3; current edition @ Reference Area A nationwide directory of lawyers and law firms, with an alphabetical index of lawyers and a practice area index.
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory LexisAdvance *
type "State Listing" into the search bar on the homepage
Nolo's Lawyer Directory free Enter your zip code and then select from among a list of legal issues (such as bankruptcy, criminal defense, divorce, personal injury, etc. Before a user is connected to attorneys in his/her area, the user must also provide a brief description of his/her legal issue).
West Legal Directory Westlaw Next *
Contains more than one million profiles of law firms and branch offices, in addition to biographical records of attorneys in thee 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Canada, and Europe. Organized by both areas of practice and by state.

* Available to individual subscribers.

American Bar Association's Consumers' Guide to Legal Help provides links and contact information for Attorney Referral Services throughout the United States.

Around the World

SourceAccessDescription
The American Bar: Including Lawyers of the World KF190.A5; current edition @ Reference Office Organized alphabetically by states and countries, cities and law firms; includes an attorney index and a law firm name index.
The Bar Directory free Covers barristers and chambers in England and Wales.
Butterworths Law Directory LexisNexis Academic (UW Restricted)
A directory of solicitors and barristers in private practice, commerce, local government and public authorities in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.
HG Legal Resources' Law Firms Worldwide free
LexisNexis Law Directory, Int'l. Prof. Bio. Listings Lexis Advance * Searchable directory of law firm located outside of Canada, the U.S., and its territories. Covers practice areas, firm profiles, associates and partners, and branch offices
Martindale-Hubbell International Law Directory KF190.M32; current edition @ Reference Area & Lawyer Locator A two-volume set arranged by country and metropolitan area, with an alphabetical index and an index by practice area.
Westlaw's International Professional Directory Westlaw Next * Lists international intellectual property law firms with contact information for each firm arranged alphabetically by country.

top


Corporate Counsel

Washington State

Washington State Bar Association Corporate Law Department Section, Corporate Counsel Directory. KF192.W38C6 1999 at Reference Office

United States

Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator
Includes an option to search for Corporate attorneys. Type "Corporate" into the "Practice Areas" search box.

Westlaw Next: Directory of Corporate Counsel
Biographical records of legal counsel for corporations and nonprofit organizations, and complete organization-level listings of corporate counsel.

Westlaw Next: West Legal Directory: Corporate Counsel
Profiles of corporate law offices and biographical records of corporate counsel in any of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

top


Judges & Judicial Staff

SourceAccessDescription
Washington State
Washington State Court Directories free Includes state, local, and tribal courts.
United States (federal and/or state)
Almanac of the Federal Judiciary KF8700.A19 A45; current edition @ Reference Area Biographical information on currently serving federal judges: U.S. Supreme Court; bankruptcy, circuit, and district courts; and magistrates. Includes media coverage and anonymous lawyers' evaluations.
Almanac of the Federal Judiciary Westlaw Next * Biographical information on currently serving federal judges: U.S. Supreme Court; bankruptcy, circuit, and district courts; and magistrates. Includes media coverage and anonymous lawyers' evaluations.
The American Bench: Judges of the Nation KF8700 .A19 A47; current edition @ Reference Office
BNA's Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks KF8700.A19 K56; current edition @ Reference Office Includes a personal name index.
Judicial Staff Directory JK1597.A3; current edition @ Reference Office Includes contact and biographical information on the federal judiciary, including judges and staff.
National Center for State Courts, State Court Websites free Organized by state and then by court.
U.S. Courts, Contact the Federal Judiciary free A searchable directory of courts, pretrial services offices,and probation offices.
U.S. Government Attorney Profiles Lexis Advance * Provides brief background information (date of birth, education, date admitted to the bar, and employing agency) about attorneys employed by the U.S. government in the District of Columbia.
West Legal Directory: Judges Westlaw Next * Office profiles and profiles of individual full-time judges from all 50 states,the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
Specialized
The Directory of Minority Judges in the United States KF8700.A19 D57; current edition @ Reference Office
United States Tribal Court Directory KF8224.C6 S39; current edition @ Reference Office

top


Legislators & Legislative Staff

Washington State

Legislative Manual, State of Washington. KFW421.5.R8L5; current edition available in the Reference Area & Reference Office; available on the Internet.
Contains Washington legislator information.

Washington State House Member Directory and Senate Roster of Members
Provides directory information; email addresses; and links to members' homepages, biographies, committees, bill sponsorship information, and recent voting records.

Washington State Legislature, Find Your Legislator
Search by address, city, or zip code for state legislative or U.S. Congressional districts.

U.S. Congress

Lexis Advance: Congressional Member Profile Report
Arranged by Congress (112th, 111th, etc.). Includes biographical and directory information, along with caucus membership, committee assignments, and leadership positions.

USA.gov's Contact Elected Officials
Provides contact information, including email addresses and websites for all federal and state executive and legislative branch elected members and agencies.

U.S. Senate, Senators Home, and Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House Member Information, provide directories and related information.National Conference of State Legislatures

Other States

Council of State Governments, Directory II: Legislative Leadership, Committees & Staff, annual. JK2403 .B63, current edition @ Reference Office

LexisAdvance: State Legislative Directory.
Provides brief biographical and directory information. Type "State Legislative Directory" in the search box on the home screen to restrict your search to this directory.

National Conference of State Legislatures, State Legislative Websites Directory
Select one or more states and one or more "content areas," including "Legislators."

top


Executive Branch Agencies, Employees & Officials

Washington State

Washington State Yearbook, annual. JK9230.W38; current edition @ Reference Area & Reference Office
Contains contact information and brief descriptions of agencies.Access Washington

Access Washington's Online Telephone Directory
Provides phone numbers and e-mail addresses for Washington State employees.

U.S. Government

USA.gov, U.S. Government Telephone and E-mail Directories
Links to sources of government toll-free numbers, elected officials, agencies, federal employees, military personnel, and Presidential appointees.

U.S. Government Manual, annual. K421.U57; current edition @ Reference Area & Reference Office
Contains descriptions, organizational charts, and contact information for federal agencies, independent agencies, government corporations, commissions, and quasi-official agencies.

University of Memphis Library, Government Publications Department, Who's Who in the Federal Government
Covers all three branches.

Federal Regulatory Directory. KF5406 .A15 F4; current edition @ Reference Office
Provides detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers, for the twelve largest regulatory agencies as well as selected independent regulatory agencies, cabinet department agencies with regulatory responsibilities and selected offices in the Executive Office of the President. Includes a name index.

LexisAdvance: Tax Analysts Federal Tax Officials Directory
Covers federal government tax attorneys in various agencies and departments. Type "Tax Analysts Federal Tax Officials Directory" in the search box on the home screen to restrict your search to this directory.

Other StatesCouncil of State Governments

Council of State Governments, Directory III: Administrative Officials, annual. JK2403.B62, current edition @ Reference Office

Council of State Governments, Directory I: Elective Officials, annual. JK2403.B61, current edition @e Reference Office

top


Local Government

Washington State

Directory of Washington City & Town Officials. JS303 .W2 A8; current edition @ Reference Office

Municipal Research & Services Center of Washington, Search City & Town Officials
A searchable database by last name, first name, or title. Also includes a complete list of Washington City & Town Officials Directory, arranged by jurisdiction.

Washington Association of County Officials Directory
Arranged by county and contains phone, fax, email, website, and mailing addresses for county assessors, auditors, clerks, commissioners, coroners, prosecuting attorneys, sheriffs, treasurers, and other county officials.

Other States

U.S. Conference of Mayors, Meet the Mayors Database
A searchable directory by name, city, state, and population.

National Association of Counties, Find a County
A searchable directory by county, city, population, county seat and elected executive.

top


Law School Faculty Members

United States

AALS.jpgThe AALS Directory of Law Teachers. KF263 .A833; current edition @ Reference Office
Published by the Association of American Law Schools. It contains both an alphabetical and a subject specialty listing of teachers. Also includes lists of Admissions, Alumni Affairs, Development, Placement, and Academic Affairs personnel. A list of Canadian teachers is organized by school.
HeinOnline, 1922 - 2012

Association of American Law Schools, Member Schools
Links to law school websites. Use the faculty directory at the appropriate website to search for a particular faculty member.

Official Guide to ABA-Approved Law Schools, annual. KF285.A45; current edition @ Reference Office
Provides law school profiles, with websites and addresses.

Around the World

Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia. K530.M63 @ Reference Area & HeinOnline (UW Restricted)
Includes the "World Law School Directory," organized by country.

HG Legal Resources Law School Worldwide Directory

International Association of Law Schools, Members
Arranged by regions then by institutional names.

Australasian Law Teachers Association, Membership Directory

top


Locating Businesses

See the UW Libraries subject guide on Business > Companies & Industries for company directories and databases for company research.

U.S. General Accounting Office, Investigators' Guide to Sources of Information. JK468 .P76 I54 1997 @ Reference Office
Covers sources of information about people, property, business, and finance. Organized into chapters dealing with local and state government, federal agencies, directories and reference works, and electronic databases.

Infobel
An index of online phone books, including links to yellow pages, white pages, business directories, and e-mail addresses worldwide.

Lexis Advance: Standard & Poor's Corporate Register of Directors & Executives
A searchable directory with "biographical information on active business executives and directors in major U.S. and non-U.S. corporations, both publicly and privately owned."

Marcus P. Zillman's Finding People
A collection of Internet resources for locating people.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout