You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Medical Malpractice Research

Medical Malpractice Research

Updated April 4, 2014.
Prepared  by Cheryl Nyberg; updated by law librarianship interns Ashley Sundin (2014), Amy Ash (2008), and Ernesto Longa (2007).

Note: Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw are available only to users who have individual IDs and passwords. Other sources may be UW Restricted.


Articles

Legal

LexisNexis
Area of Law by Topic > Health Care > US & Canadian Law Reviews Combined

Westlaw Next
HTH-TP contains health-related articles in law reviews and legal newsletters.

LegalTrac
Indexes law reviews and legal periodicals, 1980-date. [UW Restricted]

Medical

LexisNexis: Area of Law by Topic > Medical > Medical Journals > All Full-Text Medical Journals

LexisNexis: Area of Law by Topic > Torts > Multi-Source Groups > Medical & Health Materials Combined. Contains medical and health journals, news, and reference publications.

PubMed: Indexes health and medical journals. Links to online articles. [UW Restricted]

top


Books

Selected Titles

American Law of Medical Malpractice, 3d ed., 3 vols., annual supplementsAmerican Law of Medical Malpractice, 3d ed. (Table of contents)
KF2905.3 .P43 2005 at Classified Stacks

Attorneys' Textbook of Medicine
& Lexis Advance

Harney's Medical Malpractice, 5th ed. (Table of contents)
KF2905.3 .H37 2011 at Classified Stacks

Medical Liability in a Nutshell, 3d ed.
KF2905.3.Z9 B68 2011 at Reference Area

Medical Malpractice: Discovery and Trial, 7th ed. (Table of contents)
KF8925.M3 M67 2002 at Classified Stacks & Bloomberg Law

Library Catalogs

Search library catalogs to find additional books. Search by keyword or use one or more of the following subject headings:

  • Insurance, Liability -- Malpractice -- United States
  • Malpractice -- Legislation & jurisprudence -- United States
  • Malpractice -- Trends -- United States
  • Medical personnel -- Malpractice -- United States
  • Physicians -- Malpractice -- United States
  • Physicians' malpractice insurance -- United States
  • Tort liability of hospitals -- United States

Using UW Libraries Search,
you can narrow or broaden your the search:

  • Gallagher Law Library retrieves items only in the Law Library
  • UW Libraries retrieves items from Gallagher and the other libraries on all three UW campuses, including the Health Sciences Library
  • UW LIbraries + Summit expands the search to include more than 30 college and university libraries in Idaho, Oregon, and Washington
  • Articles, Books, and More is the broadest search possible. It retrieves all of the library collections mentioned above, plus articles and material for which you will need to submit an interlibrary loan request.

 

Select Search Scope

See the Gallagher guide on Other Library Catalogs for information on locating books and material beyond the Gallagher Law Library, the UW Libraries, and Summit.

E-Books

Amazon.com
Use the Search > Books feature to see specific sections of books discussing your topic. Available only to registered Amazon users.

National Academies Press
Includes publications from the National Academy of Science and the Institute of Medicine.

top


Government Information

USA.gov
Portal to government publications and websites.

ProQuest Statistical Insight [UW Restricted]
Indexes statistical series and reports from federal and state agencies and various other associations and organizations. "Medical malpractice" is an index term.

U.S. Dep't of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics, Civil Justice Statistics
Contains statistical reports on tort trials and verdicts including medical malpractice trials.

U.S. Government Accountability Office
Prepares reports responding to Congressional inquiries, including titles such as Medical Malpractice: Implications of Rising Premiums on Access to Health Care (Aug. 2003).

Washington State Medical Association
The Impact of Medical Malpractice Insurance and Tort Law on Washington's Health Care Delivery System

top


Associations & Interest Groups

The following list only identifies a few of the organizations with an interest in this issue.American Medical Association

American Medical Association, Medical Liability Reform includes talking points and issue analysis.

American Tort Reform Association covers issues and summaries of state's laws including Medical Liability Reform.

Americans for Insurance Reform includes articles on medical malpractice and tort reform.

American Association for Justice (formerly, Association of Trial Lawyers of America) includes Medical Malpractice News.

Health Coalition on Liability and Access includes fact sheets and links to studies and reports.

National Center for State Courts, Court Statistics Project links to statistics on tort filings and medical malpractice filings under Frequently Requested Information.

National Conference of State Legislatures includes a page of links to Medical Liability/Medical Malpractice NCSL Resources.National Conference of State Legislatures

Public Citizen, Medical Malpractice contains articles, fact sheets, press releases, and reports.

Rand Institute for Civil Justice includes reports and articles.

top


Other Research Guides

Boston University Law Library, Health Law Research

California Western School of Law Library, Medical Malpractice Library Guide

Georgetown Law Library, Health Law Research Guide

Pace Law Library, Health Law Research Guide - Medical Malpractice

top