You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Islamic Law Resources

Islamic Law Resources

Islam

Updated Feb. 27, 2012.
Originally prepared by Jonathan Franklin. Updated by Carissa Vogel (2007) and Cheryl Nyberg (2012).

See also the Gallagher guides on Islamic Law--Using Secondary Sources (PDF) and the companion Homework Assignment.


Selected Books & Periodicals

Listed here are some of the most recent and significant books on Islamic law found in the Gallagher Law Library. Most of these items are located in Classified Stacks; other locations are noted. For other books in the Law Library, click here. For books in other libraries, search UW Law WorldCat by the phrase "islamic law".

Islamic Law Books

Constitutionalism in Islamic Countries: Between Upheaval and Continuity (2011). KMC524 .G76 2011

Crime and Punishment in Islamic law: Theory and Practice from the Sixteenth to the Twenty-First Century. KBP3791.P48 2005

Dispensing Justice in Islam: Qadis and Their Judgements (2006). KBP1610.D57 2006

Islamic Natural Law Theories (2010). KBP440.3 .E48 2010

Law and the Sacred (2007). K3280.L395 2007

The Origins and Evolution of Islamic Law (2005). KBP55.H35 2005

Principles of Islamic Jurisprudence (2003). KBP144.K36 2003

Understanding Islamic Law (Sharīʻa) (2011). Table of contents KBP144 .B52 2011 at Reference Area

Islam and Human Rights: Advocacy for Social Change in Local Contexts (2006). KMC572.I84 2006

Islam and the Secular State: Negotiating the Future of Shariʻa (2008). BP190.5.S35 N35 2008

Islamic Law and Jurisprudence (1990). KBL0.I84H4 1990

Islamic Law and Legal Theory (1996). KBL0.I845 1996

Islamic Law and Society: An Introduction (1999). KBP144.H87 1999

The Role of Islam in the Legal System of Pakistan (2006). KPL469.5.L38 2006

Sharia Incorporated: A Comparative Overview of the Legal Systems of Twelve Muslim Countries in Past and Present (2010). Table of contents KBP144 .S537 2010

State Law as Islamic Law in Modern Egypt: The Incorporation of the Shari'a into Egyptian Constitutional Law, by Clark Benner Lombardi. KBP2102.L65 2006

Studies in Modern Islamic Law and Jurisprudence (2001). KBP144.A73 2001

Understanding Islamic law (Sharīʻa) (2011). KBP144.B52 2011 at Reference Area

top

Islamic Law Periodicals

Links to online resources--HeinOnline, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, LexisNexis Academic, and LegalTrac--are all UW Restricted.

Journal of Islamic Law and Culture. HeinOnline

UCLA Journal of Islamic and Near Eastern Law. Current issues at Reference Area; bound volumes at Compact Stacks Table of contents

For articles in law reviews and other legal periodicals, search these legal periodicals indexes:

LegalTrac. "Islamic law" is a useful subject heading.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. This index also uses "Islamic law" as a subject heading.

LexisNexis Academic > US Legal > Law Reviews > search for relevant words and phrases

Books on Islam Generally

Click on the title link for tables of contents, libraries and call numbers. For other books in the UW Libraries search keywords “islam or islamic” in the UW-only catalog. For general encyclopedias—print and online—search by subject heading: Islam—Encyclopedias.

Islam: A Comprehensive Introduction (2010).

Islam in Historical Perspective (2011).

Islam: Its History, Teaching, and Practices (2004).

Islam: The Straight Path, 3d ed. (2005).

The New Cambridge History of Islam (2010).

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (2009).

What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, 2d ed. (2011).

Women under Islam: Gender, Justice and the Politics of Islamic Law (2011).

top

Articles on Islam Generally

For articles from other disciplines, search one of the following indexes available from the UW Libraries list of Research Databases:

ATLA Religion Database: Indexes articles.

Expanded Academic ASAP: Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering all academic disciplines. Relevant subject headings include Islam and politics; Islamic countries; Arab countries

Index Islamicus: Indexes books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world.

JSTOR Advanced Search: Select Middle East Studies and/or Religion.

PAIS International: Indexes articles, books, and government documents dealing with social and public policy.

top


Selected Online Resources--Islamic Law

Bibliographies

Afghanistan Law Bibliography

Law Library of Congress, Islamic Law: A Bibliography of Recent Works Published in  English

Harvard Law School, Middle Eastern Law: Research Sources

Legal Research Guides

Globalex

Lex Mercatoria, Islamic and International Law

LLRX, Finding the Law: Islamic Law (Sharia)

University of London, Islamic and Middle Eastern Law Materials on the Net

Other Sources

Islamic Law in Our Times, a law professor's blog

Islamix, “Bringing clarity to Islamic law in the news”

Association of American Law Schools, Workshop on Islamic Law (2004).
Contains bibliographies; papers on many subjects, including contracts, criminal law, family law, and womens’ rights;and a glossary of Islamic legal terms.

top


Selected Online Resources--Islam Generally

Islam for Today
"For Westerners seeking a knowledge and understanding of Islam. A guide to the religion of Islam, Muslim history and civilizations, the rights of women in Islam, Islam in the West and around the world today plus Muslim schools and family life."

Congressional Research Service

UW Libraries Reference Tools, Countries and Cities
Links to free and licensed sources describing the history, government, economy, and people in countries around the world. Includes the U.S. State Dep't Background Notes, Country Profiles from the BBC News, the Europa World Year Book, and other sources. See also Encyclopedias.

Library of Congress, Federal Research Division, Women in Islamic Societies: A Selected Review of Social Scientific Literature (2005). 122-page report with an extensive bibliography.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout