You are here: Home Legal Research Guides International Cases

International Cases

Updated Feb. 9, 2014.
Prepared by Jonathan Franklin; updated by Heather Joy (2014).

Along with treaties, international cases are some of the most important documents in international law. The primary source of international cases is the International Court of Justice (ICJ), a part of the United Nations. Its predecessor, the Permanent Court of International Justice, rendered decisions from 1922-45. The current court started in 1945 and is based in The Hague. This guide primarily addresses resources related to the ICJ, with some additional links to other courts.

Note: LexisNexis, Westlaw, and WestlawNext are available to individuals with passwords. HeinOnline is a UW-restricted database, available to users who visit the Gallagher Law Library.


International Court of Justice

International Court of Justice

Decisions, Awards & Related Documents

The International Court of Justice website includes full text of cases and pleadings since 1946 and the Court's current docket.

Pleadings, Oral Arguments, Documents, 1948 - 2009.
KZ218.I58 at Classified Stacks

Summaries of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders, 1948 - 2007.
KZ213.5853 and KZ213.586 at Classified Stacks
Westlaw (1947 - 2005 with some updates), WestlawNext (1947 - 2005 with some updates), Lexis.com (1948 - current, judgments and advisory opinions), and LexisAdvance (1948 - current, advisory opinions only)

Reports of International Aribtral Awards, 1948 - date.
KZ200.R47 at Classified Stacks & HeinOnline (1920 - 2012)

Yearbook, 1946 - 2005.
KZ6273.I58 at Classified Stacks & HeinOnline (1946 - 2007)

World Court Digest, 1992 - date.
KZ1213.W67 at Classified Stacks & online

Digest of the Decisions of the International Court of Justice (Repertoire des decisions de la Cour internationale de justice), vol. 1, 1922 - vol. 7, 1985; vol. 6,. 1959 - 75 (Handbuch der Entscheidungen des Internationalen Gerichtshofs).
KZ64. F66 Ser.A-1 v.6 at Classified Stacks; KZ64. F66 Ser. A-1 v. 7 at Classified Stacks

International Law Reports, 1919 - 2012.
A commercial publication that covers decisions of a variety of courts, including the International Court of justice. See especially the Consolidated Indexes.
KZ199.I58 at Classified Stacks

HeinOnline's United Nations Law Collection: International Court of Justice database

HeinOnline's United Nations Law Collection: United Nations Commission on International Trade Law database

HeinOnline's United Nations Law Collection: International Tribunal for Law of the Sea database, including Digest of International Cases of Law of the Sea, 2007

General Information

The International Court of Justice: Questions and Answers about the Principal Judicial Organ of the United Nations.
KZ6275.I555 2000 at Classified Stacks

The World Court: What It Is and How It Works (Rosenne's).
KZ6260.R67 2003 at Classified Stacks

Germain's International Court of Justice Research Guide.

top


Other Courts

European Court of Justice, see the Gallagher guide on European Union Research.

European Court of Human Rights, see the Council of Europe section of the Gallagher guide on Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs).

For information about international trade dispute settlements, see Marci Hoffman, Revised Guide to International Trade Law Sources on the Internet (includes links to sites with NAFTA, GATT, and WTO dispute settlements).Global Community

For selected reprinted cases from other international courts and tribunals, see the periodical Global Community: Yearbook of International Law and Jurisprudence. KZ21.G58 at Classified Stacks

For information about foreign domestic constitutional court decisions, see the Bulletin on Constitutional Case-Law, 1993-2012. KJC4444.52.B85 at Classified Stacks

For information about specific national courts, arbitral tribunals, or other regional courts, see:

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout