You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Innocence Project Northwest Clinic--Forensics

Innocence Project Northwest Clinic--Forensics

Updated Oct. 20, 2014.
Prepared by Cheryl Nyberg.

This guide is part of a series for students in Prof. Jackie McMurtrie's Innocence Project Northwest Clinic. Companion guides include:

Access to some sources are UW restricted or require individual users to have their own LexisNexis or Westlaw IDs or passwords.


Articles

Search LegalTrac for articles indexed under the following subjects:

  • DNA Testing
  • Evidence, Scientific

Deborah Sulzbach, DNA Shall Prevail: Postconviction DNA Evidence: An Annotated Bibliography, Legal Ref. Serv. Q., 2006, no. 1, at 39. Available online [UW Restricted]

This bibliography identifies books and articles relating personal stories, state-specific sources, innocence projects, and related material.

The UW Libraries subscribe to the following journals (catalog records include links to online sources):

top


Atlases & Dictionaries

The American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary (1995).
R121.A53 1995 at Classified Stacks

Attorney's Dictionary of Medicine.
Available on Lexis Advance

Attorney's Illustrated Medical Dictionary (AmJur Proof of Facts, 2002 with annual supplement).
KF8933.A45 2002 at Reference Area

Attorney's Medical Deskbook 4th.
Westlaw

Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (4th ed. (2000).
Westlaw

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body (1918), complete with images, many in color.

Physicians Desk Reference (PDR).
RS75.P5 at Reference Area

Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 25th ed. (1990).
R121.S8 1990 at Reference Area & Westlaw (27th ed., 2000)

Taber's Medical Cyclopedic Dictionary.
KF8933.A426 1988 at Reference Area

top


Books

The following list includes some of the recent books acquired by the Gallagher Law Library on forensic issues. Unless otherwise indicated, these books are located in the Classified Stacks. Links are made to the catalog record, which frequently includes a table of contents. If a call number is not provided, the item is available on the Internet.

ABA Standards for Criminal Justice: DNA Evidence (3d ed. 2007).
KF9666.5 .A33 2007

DNA and the Criminal Justice System: The Technology of Justice (2004).
KF9666.5.D63 2004

DNA: Forensic and Legal Applications (2005). KF9666.5.K63 2005The Fingerprint Sourcebook

Federal Bureau of Investigation, Handbook of Forensic Services (2007).

National Institute of Justice

Principles of Forensic DNA for Officers of the Court (2006).

Search for other books and materials in library catalogs for the following subject headings:

  • DNA Fingerprinting
  • Evidence, Criminal
  • Evidence, Expert
  • Forensic Genetics
  • Forensic Sciences
  • Medical Jurisprudence

top


Databases & Indexes

Innocence Record is a searchable database of documents from the nearly 300 cases of wrongfully convicted and DNA exonerated individuals. A joint project of the Innocence Project and Winston & Strawn. Request an account to obtain access.

Online Index of Forensic Research. A new and growing index of articles from forensic journals, with more than 1,500 articles.

PubMed indexes articles in the health, medicine, and related fields. UW Libraries version often links to full-text articles.

Other relevant UW Restricted databases include Criminal Justice Abstracts and Dissertation Abstracts.

top


Websites

A Simplified Guide to Forensic Science

National Commission on the Future of DNA Evidence
Contains transcripts of meetings and links to publications. No longer updated.

National Forensic Science Technology Center and the Bureau of Justice Assistance
A Simplified Guide to Foreign Science

National Institute of Justice
Forensic DNA and Forensic Sciences link to publications and research.

 

U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation, FBI Laboratory
I
ncludes descriptions of laboratory services and issues of Forensic Science Communications (an annual periodical).

Washington State Patrol, Forensic Laboratory Services

top


Bibliographies & Library Guides

These guides identify several commercial sources to which the UW Libraries also subscribe. Check the UW Libraries Articles & Research Databases list to determine if the UW subscribes to a service that one of these guides mention.

Indiana University, Forensic & Investigative Science

Library of Congress, Forensic Sciences

Suffolk University,  Forensic Science Resource Guide

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout