You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Innocence Project Northwest Clinic--Articles, Books & Websites

Innocence Project Northwest Clinic--Articles, Books & Websites

Updated Oct. 20, 2014.
Prepared by Cheryl Nyberg.

This guide is part of a series for students in Prof. Jackie McMurtrie's Innocence Project Northwest Clinic. Companion guides include:

Access to HeinOnline and LegalTrac is UW restricted. LexisNexis and Westlaw access is limited to individuals with their own IDs or passwords.


Articles

In addition to searching for articles on HeinOnline, LexisNexis, and Westlaw, you can search LegalTrac for articles indexed under the following subjects:

  • DNA Testing
  • Evidence, Scientific
  • False Imprisonment
  • Innocence (Psychology)
  • Post-Conviction Remedies
  • Wrongful Convictions (Law)

top


Books

The Law Library has many books on this topic. The following items are just some of the titles that are available. The list is in order by title. These items are located in the Classified Stacks unless otherwise indicated.

Links lead to Law Library catalog records, many of which include titles of chapters in the books.

Items that do not include call numbers are available on the Internet or as e-books.

Achieving Justice: Freeing the Innocent, Convicting the Guilty, by the ABA Criminal Justice Section's Ad Hoc Innocence Committee to Ensure the Integrity of the Criminal Process.
KF9756.A82 2006

Actual Innocence: Five Days to Execution and Other Dispatches from the Wrongly Convicted.
KF9756.D89 2000 at Good ReadsConvicting the Innocent

Actual Innocence: When Justice Goes Wrong and How to Make It Right (2003).
KF9756 D98 2001 at Course Reserve

Constitutional Rights of Prisoners. LexisNexis: CRIME;CONTRP
Law Library has 4th ed., 1991 at KF9731.A7 P3 1991


Convicted by Juries, Exonerated by Science: Case Studies in the Use of DNA Evidence to Establish Innocence after Trial (1996).
KF9667.C66 1996

Convicting the Innocent: Where Criminal Prosecutions Go Wrong (2011).
KF9756.G37 2011

DNA for the Defense Bar (June 2012).

Examining Wrongful Convictions: Stepping Back, Moving Forward (2014)
Available via Summit

 

False Justice: Eight Myths That Convict the Innocent (2010).
KF9756.P47 2010
Revised ed., 2014 available as an e-book.

Federal Postconviction Remedies Handbook.
Westlaw: FEDPCREM

Forensics Under Fire: Are Bad Science Bad Science and Dueling Experts Corrupting Legal Justice? (2008)
Available as an e-book.

Innocent: Inside Wrongful Conviction Cases.
KF9756.C49 2004 & e-book (UW Restricted)

The Innocents: Photographs and Interviews (2003).
Available via Summit.

Lazarus and the Hurricane: The Freeing of Rubin "Hurricane" Carter (2000).
Available via Summit. See also the Gallagher guide on The Hurricane.

Legal Resource Guide to the Federal Bureau of Prisons (2008).

Post-Conviction DNA Testing and Wrongful Conviction (2012).

Predicting Erroneous Convictions: A Social Science Approach to Miscarriages of Justice (2012).

The Supreme Court on Trial: How the American Justice System Sacrifices Innocent Defendants (2008).
KF9685 .T48 2008 & e-book (UW Restricted)

The Wrong Men: America's Epidemic of Wrongful Death Row Convictions (2003).
HV8699.U5C64 2003

Wrongful Conviction: Law, Science, and Policy (2011).
KF9756.A25 2011

Available as an e-book.

Wrongly Convicted: Perspectives on Failed Justice.
KF220.W76 2001

Search for other books and materials in library catalogs for the following subject headings:

  • DNA Fingerprinting
  • Evidence, Criminal
  • Evidence, Expert
  • Judicial Error
  • Post-conviction Remedies
  • Prosecutorial Misconduct

See also:

Deborah Sulzbach, DNA Shall Prevail: Postconviction DNA Evidence: An Annotated Bibliography, 25 Legal Ref. Serv. Q. 39 (2006, no. 1). UW Restricted

DNA Evidence: Brave New World, Same Old Problems, LLRX (Oct. 14, 2013).
A lengthy annotated bibliography of American Law Reports annotations, articles, bibliographies and current awareness tools, books, book chapters, government and organization reports, journals, news, professional standards, scientific studies, and training materials.

top


Websites & Blogs

University of Texas, Tarlton Law Library, Actual Innocence Awareness Database provides citations and links to articles, books, legislation, newspaper stories, reports, and websites. Available via RSS feed. Categories include:

  • eyewitness ID
  • false confessions
  • forensics/DNA
  • ineffective representation
  • jailhouse informants
  • police/prosecutorial misconduct

LLRX, Criminal Law Resources: DNA Post-Conviction Resources (2008)

Death Penalty Information Center, Innocence and the Death Penalty

Includes an exoneration database, descriptions, and statistics.

The Innocence ProjectThe Innocence Project

A "national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted people through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice." Includes amicus briefs, annual reports (2005-09), an e-newsletter, exoneration news, the Innocence Project Magazine, other publications and research reports, videos, and related material. Blog: Innocence Blog

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

Provides a brief and motion bank with documents under categories such as death penalty, due process, habeas corpus, indigent defense, and prosecutorial misconduct.

National Clearinghouse for Science, Technology and the Law

Assembles "the available scientific, technological, and relevant legal resources into a comprehensive `one-stop' searchable database with equal access for all." Provides a searchable forensic database with thousands of citations to articles, books, cases, dissertations, reports, and other sources on specific topics such as crime scene investigation, DNA, fingerprints, forensic psychology, questioned documents, and trace evidence. Includes an events calendar, links to related websites, and an email newsletter.

National Conference of State Legislatures, DNA and Forensics

Links to articles, other documents, and the Forensic Science Laws Database.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service is a clearinghouse for federal government research and publications.

National Registry of Exonerations is an updated list of exonerations in the U.S. since 1989. You can browse the list of more than 1,450 cases, read a report, review exonerations by state and country, and consult statistics. This site is a joint project (no pun intended) of the Michigan and Northwestern law schools

Post-Conviction Representation, Pro Se Practice and Access to the Courts is an annotated bibliography of articles, books, and cases.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout