You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Foreign & International Copyright Law

Foreign & International Copyright Law

Updated March 2015.
Prepared by Jonathan Franklin; updated by Pegeen Mulhearn (2007) and Cheryl Nyberg (2015).

This guide covers treaties and other international agreements on copyright, as well as sources for foreign countries' laws on copyright and selected books and other sources.

For information on U.S. copyright law, see:

See also the Gallagher guides on:

Note: Bloomberg BNA, CCH / Wolters Kluwer, HeinOnline, and LexisNexis Academic are UW Restricted databases. Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis, and Westlaw are restricted to University of Washington School of Law faculty, students, and staff and others who have individual IDs and passwords.


Treaties & Other International Agreements

For a general discussion of Intellectual Property Research in an international context, see the American Society of International Law's guide on International Intellectual Property Law.

The major international intellectual property association is the World Intellectual Property Organization.

Major Treaties

For links to the full text of major copyright treaties in electronic format, see WIPO-Administered Treaties.

Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (1967), 222
| HeinOnline | U.N. Treaty Collection | WIPO

Universal Copyright Convention, 25 United States Treaties 1341.
KZ235.3.U55 at Compact Stacks | Hein Online

Convention for the Protection of Producers of Phonograms Against Unauthorized Duplication of Their Phonograms (1971), 25 United States Treaties 309.
KZ235.3.U55 at Compact Stacks | Hein Online | WIPO

International Convention for the Protection of Performers, Producers of Phonograms and Broadcasting Organizations, 496 United Nations Treaty Series 43.
KZ172.T74 at Compact Stacks

General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (including Agreement on Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property), 33 International Legal Materials 81.
KZ64.I58 at Classified Stacks| HeinOnline | LexisNexis

LexisNexis: U.S. Treaties on LEXIS

For additional information on finding treaties, see the Gallagher guides on Treaties & Other International Agreements: Guides & Indexes and  Treaties & Other International Agreements: Treaty Collections.

top


Foreign Countries' Copyright Laws

WIPO Lex
Provides citations to and the full-text of the intellectual property laws of numerous countries of the world. Select a country and the subject "Copyright and Related Rights (Neighboring Rights).

Intellectual Property Rights: National Legislation
From the Organization of American States; contains citations and links to intellectual property laws for more than 30 countries.

Collection of National Copyright Laws
From the U.N. Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization; contains full-text of national legislation; organization by regions of the world and then by country.

Copyright Througout the World | Westlaw
Contains summaries of copyright law for 40 countries.

World Intellectual Property Rights and Remedies. (1999-date ). 6 vols. Looseleaf.
Contains summaries of national intellectual property laws written by attorneys as well as translated legislation in volumes 3 & 4.
K1401.W675 1999 at Reference Area

top


Books

Listed here are a small number of books in the Law Library's collection. All of these items are located in the Classified Stacks.

International Copyright and Neighbouring Rights: The Berne Convention and Beyond, 2d ed. (2006). 2 vols.
K1420.5 .R53 2006

International Copyright Law and Policy (2008).
K1420.5 .L485 2008

International Copyright Law and Practice | Lexis

International Copyright: Principles, Law, and Practice, 3d ed. (2013).
K1420.5 .G65 2013

WIPO Guide on the Licensing of Copyright and Related Rights (2004).
K1420.5 .W572 2004

World Copyright Law, 3d ed. | Westlaw
Deals with "issues of copyright law in international and foreign law applications." Includes a helpful collection of Reference Materials such as a table of cases; international treaties, conventions, and agreements; national laws; and abbreviations.

World Intellectual Property Rights and Remedies | Westlaw
Provides "analytical summaries of the patent, copyright, trademark, trade secret, and other IP laws of dozens of countries and the European Union. In addition to practical guidance for IP practitioners, chapters are included with expert commentary on the text of primary legal statutes for several jurisdictions."

For other titles, search the Library catalog by the subject "Copyright, International."

top


Works on Individual Countries

Canada

Canada Copyright Board Decisions (1990-present) | LexisNexis Academic

Canadian Intellectual Property Law and Strategy. | Lexis

China

Chinese Intellectual Property and Technology Laws (2011).
KNQ920 .C56 2011 at Classified Stacks

Chinese IP Cases and Commentaries | Lexis

Intellectual Property Rights in China (2011).
KNQ1155 .G36 2011 at Classified Stacks

For more information about Chinese legal research, see the Gallagher guide on Chinese Legal Research at the University of Washington.

Eastern Europe

Intellectual Property in Eastern Europe & Commonwealth of Independent States. | Lexis

Japan

Japan IP Resources | Bloomberg Law
Includes selected laws and news.

Patent Law and Copyright Law (2012).
KNX1155 .K65 2012 at Classified Stacks

For other books on Japanese copyright law, search the Law Library catalog by the subject heading "Copyright--Japan." For more about finding Japanese laws and cases, see the Gallagher guide on Japanese Law A - Z.

United Kingdom

Intellectual Property: Patents, Copyright, Trade Marks, and Allied Rights, 7th ed. (2010).
KD1269 .C67 2010 at Classified Stacks

United Kingdom (England and Wales) Judgments, Transcripts & Decisions | Bloomberg Law

For other books on British copyright law, search the Law Library catalog by the subject heading "Copyright--Great Britain."

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout