You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Expert Witnesses: Researching & Using Experts in Litigation

Expert Witnesses: Researching & Using Experts in Litigation

Updated Sept. 16, 2015.
Prepared by Kelly Aldrich; updated by Sarah Weldon, law librarianship intern (2014).

Attorneys often turn to expert witnesses to help demonstrate and provide foundation for the factual bases for their clients’ claims or defenses. For example, in a medical malpractice case, a physician is needed to testify to the standard of care expected in the industry. Or, when suing a condominium developer, a party will likely need a construction expert to testify as to the nature and extent of the construction defects. For more information, see Bloomberg BNA, A Primer on When to Use Expert Witnesses and How to Find Them (Jan. 2013).

To find an expert, one might first ask colleagues for recommendations. Or, you might use a general search engine to look for the phrase “expert witness,” the area or category in which you need an expert (e.g., “construction”), and, if relevant, the geographical area (e.g., “Washington State,” or “Seattle”).

This guide identifies books, free websites, and subscription databases that offer information on expert witnesses, both generally and in specific categories. Bloomberg BNA is available to University of Washington School of Law faculty, students and staff and visitors to the Gallagher Law Library [UW Restricted]. Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, and WestlawNext are available to individual subscribers with passwords or IDs. See Access to Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance & WestlawNext for more information.

See also the Gallagher guide on Jury Verdicts, Settlements, Judgments & Liens.


Books

The following titles represent some of the books on this topic available in the Gallagher Law Library. Most of these books were published by divisions or sections of the American Bar Association (ABA).

The linked titles lead to library catalog records that provide tables of contents. Unless otherwise indicated, these titles are located in the Classified Stacks.

Using Expert Witnesses

Expert Witness Answer Book (Practising Law Institute, 2014).
Bloomberg Law

Expert Witnesses, Valuation & Damages: The Expert's Point of View (ABA General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division, 2013). Expert Witnesses, Valuation & Damages 2013
KF8961.A97 2013

A Litigator's Guide to Expert Witnesses (ABA General Practice, Solo & Small Firm Division, 2006).
KF8961.K84

Litigators on Experts: Strategies for Managing Expert Witnesses from Retention through Trial (ABA 2010).
KF8961.H39 2010

For more books about expert witnesses, search the Law Library catalog by the subject "Evidence, Expert--United States."

Specific Types of Experts

Forensic Assessments in Criminal and Civil Law: A Handbook for Lawyers (Oxford University Press, 2013).

How to Examine Mental Health Experts: A Family Lawyer's Handbook of Issues and Strategies (ABA Section of Family Law, 2013).
KF8965.Z474 2013

Reference Manual on Scientific Evidence, 3d ed. (Federal Judicial Center, 2011).
KF8961.R44 2011 at Reference Area & FJC (PDF)

Scientific Evidence, 5th ed. 2 vols. (LexisNexis 2012).
KF8961.G53 2012 & Lexis Advance

Scientific Evidence Review: Admissibility and Use of Expert Evidence in the Courtroom (ABA Section of Science and Technology Law, 2013).
KF8935.S27 2013

top


Directories

Once an attorney decides that an expert witnesses is needed, the next step is identifying one.

Free Websites

Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following directories may be searched. Most are also arranged by area or category of specialization and/or by state. For a fee, many of these sites provide additional information.

ALMExperts (also on Lexis Advance, below)

Claims Providers of America, National Directory of Expert Witnesses

ExpertLaw, Expert Witness Directory

ExpertPages

Expert Witness Network, Free Searchable Expert Witness Directory

FindLaw, Expert Witness Directory

HG, Directory of Expert Witnesses

JurisPro Expert Witness Directory (also on Lexis Advance, below)

LexVisio, Expert Witnesses

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance

To find one of these databases, type the database name in the search box and then select from the resulting list. For more information about the scope of a database, click on "Browse Sources" (above the search box) and type the name of the database in the search box on the left.

ALM Expert Witness Directory
Includes profiles of leading experts and consultants. Updated monthly

Courtroom Insight Expert Witness Directory and Ratings
Profiles of experts submitted by attorneys. Includes some evaluations by attorneys, judges, and/or peers. Updated quarterly

Daubert Tracker
Tracks federal and state cases from 1993 to day. Includes names of challenged experts, disciplines and areas of expertise, and results of the challenge.

Expert Witness CVs & Resumes
Includes documents collected from various sources, from 1980 to date.

Lexis Advance Expert Witness Verdicts & Settlements

Expert Witness Verdicts and Settlements
Case summaries from Expert Research On-Demand covering a broad range of practice areas. From 1981 to date.

JurisPro Expert Witness Directory
Includes names, areas of expertise, qualifications, and contact information.

SEAK National Directory of Experts
Directory of more than 1,000 "long-practicing experts" in medical and nonmedical cases. 2012 edition.

top

WestlawNext

WestlawNext logo

Expert Materials
A launch page into a collection of expert databases including:

  • challenge and evaluator reports
  • depositions and directories
  • Expert Witness Curricula Vitae and Resumes
  • Expert Witness Directory: More than 15,000 experts, consultants, and other legal support professionals. From ALM.
  • jurisdiction-based resources
  • Profiles of Expert Witnesses: A directory of experts with links to related jury verdict summaries, testimony, and Andrews litigation reporters. Searchable by name, state or country, and areas of expertise.
  • questions and answers
  • reports and affidavits
  • trial transcripts

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout