You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Congressional Research Service Reports

Congressional Research Service Reports

Updated May 18, 2015.
Prepared by Cheryl Nyberg; updated by Peggy Jarrett.

Congressional Research Service

The Congressional Research Service (a division of the Library of Congress) provides high-quality research and analysis for committees and members of Congress. These reports, studies, and issue briefs are succinct and well-researched and many are regularly updated. About CRS

For many years, these reports were only available through commercial services or by contacting individual members of Congress. CRS did not print or distribute the reports to libraries. Today, thousands of CRS reports are freely available on the Internet and the University of Washington faculty and students have access to thousands via commercial services.

This guide identifies online, print, and microfilm sources of CRS reports.


Internet Sources

Several free Internet sources provide collections of CRS reports.

Archive-It, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
A searchable collection of reports from twenty different sources archived from June 2008.

University of North Texas Libraries, CRS Reports
Another large collection of reports; nearly 19,000 titles. Search or browse by topic.

Several organizations collect CRS reports in specific subject areas.

Subjects

Sources

Agriculture & related issues

National Agricultural Law Center

Congress & its procedures

Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC

Foreign relations, homeland security, military, national security & terrorism

Air War College

US Dep't of State, Foreign Press Center

Federation of American Scientists, Congressional Research Service [CRS] Reports

Naval Postgraduate School, Dudley Knox Library, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Thurgood Marshall Law Library

GlobalSecurity.org

Health law & policy

Thurgood Marshall Law Library

Intellectual property, cyberlaw & e-commerce

Franklin Pierce Law Center

Science & the environment

National Council for Science and the Environment, CRS Reports

top


Commercial Sources

Several commercial databases to which University of Washington users have access include substantial collections of CRS reports.

Source Description

Congressional Research Service Reports on CQ.com

From the homepage, click on Advanced Search. Then Sources > Select: None > click in the box to the left of CRS Reports.

CQ.com

The biggest single collection of CRS reports; more than 56,000 as of March 2014.

The date range appears to be 1978-date. But there are just a few reports from the late 1970s and a few hundred from the 1980s. The bulk of the collection dates from the 1990s to the present. New reports appear to be added quickly.

Institutional subscribers--like the UW--do not have access to tracking features (“email me new CRS Reports every morning” and “track CRS Reports by subject).

[UW Restricted]

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law

Another extensive collection; more than 34,000 reports, from Jan. 2003 to date.

CRS reports from 2011-date. Click on the Legislative & Regulatory tab, the Legislative Resources. Under the Legislative Materials heading, you will see a link to CRS Reports.

[Available to University of Washington School of Law faculty, students and staff with individual passwords]

Congressional Research Service Reports on HeinOnline

HeinOnline

The most selective of the three sources but growing fast. Includes reports back to 2001 (with some earlier titles).

[UW Restricted]

top


Print & Microform

Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service is comprised of a printed index and companion microfilm collection. The Law Library does not have either source, but the index is available at Suzzallo Government Publications (JK1108.M353 at Reference) and the microfilm reels are at Suzzallo Microforms Newspapers (Microfilm A6816).

The UW Libraries catalog includes individual records for CRS reports in this series beginning in 1916, although before the 1970s the series contains relatively few documents.

CRS reports are sometimes reprinted in Congressional committee hearings. Use ProQuest Congressional [UW Restricted] to search for Congressional Research Service.

Copies of individual reports are available from your local U.S. Senator or Representative to Congress. Several online Congressional directories are available:

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout