You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Obtaining Copyright Permission

Obtaining Copyright Permission

Updated Mar. 31, 2014.
Prepared by Ann Hemmens. Updated by AJ Blechner (2014), Patrick Flanagan (2010), and Amanda Runyon (2007).

This guide is geared toward members of the academic community seeking permission to use copyrighted materials for teaching, research, or scholarly activities. The guide links to selected, online sources. Some sources may be UW Restricted.

See also the Gallagher guide on Research in Copyright Law.

 


University of Washington

UnitServices
UW Copyright Connection "Provides resources for students, researchers, staff, and faculty on copyright law, policies, and guidelines." Covers:
UW Publications Services, Copyrights Permission Center The services described here are available to members of the academic community who are preparing printed course packs to be sold at UW copy centers. The Center obtains permissions from publishers to use selected materials, prints and sells the course packs, and incorporates the cost of the service into the price of the course pack.  A Course Pack Request Form or Copyright Permissions Request Form is available on the website.
UW Libraries, Copyright Information for Educators A collection of links on UW policies, copyright basics, copyright in academia, draft guidelines proposed by the Conference on Fair Use (CONFU), and other topics.

top


Information & Resources Specifically for Academic Institutions

Baruch College, Interactive Guide to Using Copyrighted Media in Your Courses
A "guide to help faculty determine the appropriate copyright guidelines they must follow to use different types of copyright protected media in their courses."

Richard Stim, Getting Permission: How to License & Clear Copyright Material Online & Off, 4th ed. KF3024.C6 S75 2010 at Reference Area.  Provides information and sample forms for educators to use when obtaining permissions for the compilation of coursepacks and an analysis of academic fair use guidelines.

SUNY at Albany, Intellectual Property, Copyright and Fair Use Resources
Targeted towards faculty and students seeking information on how copyright law affects their use of material for educational purposes. Under the heading "Getting Permission " are links to resources for obtaining permissions (including University Microforms International). Additionally the site contains links to sites addressing fair use issues, links to copyright guidelines and a bibliography of print and online sources.Book Stack

University of Texas, Copyright Crash Course
Provides background information on fair use, copyright ownership and management, and copyright in the digital library environment. Focuses on the copyright concerns of faculty, administrators, students and others.

The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition, Resources Page
"SPARC provides a full suite of resources for librarians, authors, publishers, editors, and others who would like to educate themselves and help to create change in the scholarly communication system."

Columbia, Fair Use Checklist
Provides information on Fair Use in Education and Research.  One of the most helpful sections of this guide are the Case Summaries for relevant precedent.

top


Copyright Agencies & Organizations

US Copyright Office

U.S. Copyright Office

Offers a vast amount of information about the law, the registration process, and related matters, including:

 

Copyright Clearance Center
This company provides services marketed to the academic community, including the Pay-Per-Use Permissions Service and Annual Copyright Licenses for coursepacks, handouts, library reserve, and course management systems. Also includes

 

National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research, Online Copyright Resources
A collection of links to copyright basics and history, laws and regulating bodies, resources for distance education and open access to online scholarship, and discussion and opinion sources.  In June of 2013 a landmark treaty was passed that benefits the visually impaired by making print materials more accessible to people with disabilities across national boundaries.

top


Publisher Directories

General

Literary Marketplace
Free registration gains access to US, Canadian, and international publishers' names and addresses.

Publishers' Catalogues
Covers more than 7,400 publishers worldwide with links to websites. Search or browse by country, city, or US state; topic; or type of material (e.g., books, magazines).

Publisher’s Weekly
A list of the 60 largest publishers in 2013 containing profiles of each of the 60 top publishers including information on: their group or division, the country of publication, the parent corporation, and the revenue in 2011 and 2012.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory [UW Restricted]  [Suzzallo/Allen Libraries, Call Number: Z6941.U45]
Contains contact information for more than 240,000 academic and scholarly publications, consumer and trade magazines, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, and electronic publications published throughout the world.

Queensland University of Technology, OAKList Database
This web-enabled database contains information about publishing agreements and publishers' open access policies.

Yahoo Directory, Publishers
Links to hundreds of publisher websites organized into categories.

Legal Publishers

American Association of Law Libraries, Vendor Contact Information
The Corporate Affiliations page is organized by publishing families (Reed Elsevier, Thomson, and Wolters Kluwer) and independent publishers and the Contact Information page offers an alphabetic list in a pull-down menu. Maintained by the Committee on Relations with Information Vendors.

The Social Law Library in Boston provides a guide on Legal Publishers which contains a list of legal publishers with concise one line descriptions and links to the home pages of each of these publishers.

FindLaw provides a list of Legal Publishers within the United States and a list of Legal Publishers of International Materials.

Legal Newsletters in Print. Annual; latest edition at Reference Office, KF8.E57
Contains an index listing the publishers of various legal newsletters as well as database and content provider content lists and a list of newsletters registered with the copyright clearance center.

Legal Looseleafs in Print. Annual, latest edition at Reference Office, KF1.L44
Contains a publishers directory, a publisher's index, and a considerable collection of information regarding looseleafs in electronic format.

Law Reviews & Legal Periodicals

LegalTrac [UW Restricted]
Indexes law reviews, legal newspapers, and other legal periodicals from 1980 to present. The "Publication Search" provides publishers' addresses.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals identifies law reviews and other legal periodicals

Jurist contains a list of the law reviews from each ABA-accredited law school.

top


Author Directories

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
Provides an online database of song titles licensed by ASCAP in the United States labeled the ACE Title Search For each title, you can find the names of songwriters and artists who made commercial recordings as well as the contact information for publishers. Search by song title, writer, performer, or publisher. Additional information is found on the Customer Licensees section.

Broadcast Music Inc (BMI)
See the FAQ for Music Users on Licensing and has a search function that will search BMI’s repertoire.

SESAC
A quickly growing music licensing agency. See the searchable SESAC Reparatory collection.

American Society of Journalists and Authors, Search Members
An alphabetically-organized list of links to more than one thousand nonfiction authors who are members of this organization. Contact information typically found on these websites.

Writers, Artists and Their Copyright Holders (WATCH)
A searchable database containing contact information names and addresses) for copyright holders of US and UK literary works.

HRCWatch.jpg

top


Other Guides

Stanford University Library, Academic and Educational Copyright Permissions
This guide provides a lot of useful information on non-coursepack related fair use exceptions, covering both written and audiovisual materials.

The Campus Guide to Copyright Compliance
Offers information on fair use, the DMCA, and the TEACH Act with information specifically targeted at Exceptions for the Use of Materials in an Educational Setting. It also has a section on Other Campus Copyright Issues which may be helpful for those interested in Computer Software or Student-Created Material.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout