You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Australian Legal Research Sources

Australian Legal Research Sources

Updated Dec. 18, 2014.
Prepared by Cheryl Nyberg; updated by by Heather Joy (2014) and Gabriela Femenia (2009).

This page provides links to freely available and commercial services. Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw are available to people with individual IDs or passwords.


Gallagher Law Library's Collection

Map image of Australia from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/as.html

The Gallagher Law Library collects federal-level primary material. State and provincial material is also available, but most of these sources are no longer current. Search our online catalog for complete information about individual titles.

Australian material is found under two call numbers in the Classified Stacks. Newer material is found under the KU classification and older material is found under the KTA classification. Australian material can also be found in the context of a specific subject, such as Law of the Sea (KZA).


Legal Research Guides

Consult a research guide for more information.

Kinder, A Guide to Online Legal Research Resources for the Australian Federal Legal System with Some Reference to the State Level (Nov./Dec. 2014).

Milne, A Practical Guide to Legal Research. KU47.M55 2008 at Reference Area & Reference Office

Watt, Concise Legal Research, 4th ed. KU47.W37 2001 at Classified Stacks

Campbell, Legal Research: Materials and Methods, 4th ed. KU47.C35 1996 at Classified Stacks

Pengelley & Milne, Researching Australian Law, Jan. 2014

New York University, Hauser Global Law School Program, GlobaLex, A Guide to Online Research Resources for the Australian Federal Legal System with Some Reference to the State Level, Dec. 2010

Law Library of Congress, Australia

Harvard: Australian Legal Research

The University of Melbourne: Research Guides

Australian National University: Law - A guide to Australian legal research resources

top


Online Collections


Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
ComLaw
Attorney-General's Department
LexisNexis
Westlaw

top


Statutes

Acts of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia. Arranged by date of enactment (session laws)

  • (***1901-1916, found in various titles. KTA0.A1 A23 A3 at Classified Stacks)
  • 1912-1982. KTA0.A1 A2 at Classified Stacks
  • 1980-date, in microfiche. KTA0.A1 A2 at Classified Stacks

Australian Current Law: Legislation, 1993-2009. KU13 .A87 at Classified Stacks

Acts of the Australian Parliament, 1901-1973. Arranged by titles of the acts. KTA0.A1 A3 1974 at Classified Stacks

Acts of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia. Arranged by date of enactment (session laws). KTA0.A1 A3 1913 at Classified Stacks

ComLaw, 1973-date, with some historical coverage dating back to 1901

AustLII, 1973-date, with some historical coverage dating back to 1901

top


Cases

Finding Tools

Commonwealth Statutes Annotations. KTA0.A1 A32 at Classified Stacks, current edition only (2011 with supplements through 2013)
Arranged by titles of acts, provides references to cases

Australian Digest, 3d ed. KU23.A8 1987 at Classified Stacks (with supplements through 2002)

High Court

Australian Current Law: Reporter, 1993-2009. KU19.A2 at Classified Stacks
Contains summaries.

Australian Law Reports, 1973-date. Contains full-text

  • KTA0.A1 A5 at Classified Stacks
  • (***1895-1973, available in Argus Australian Law Reports, KTA0.A1 A5 at Classified Stacks)
  • Lexis: 1973-2010

Commonwealth Law Reports, 1903-92.

  • KTA0.A1 A52 at Classified Stacks
  • WestlawNext: CLR-RPTS (International materials)

WestlawNext: HCA-CS, 1903-date. (International materials → Australia Cases → High Court)

AustLII, 1903-date

Federal Court

Federal Court of Australia, judgments available from 1977-date

Australian Current Law: Reporter, 1993-2009. KU19.A2 at Classified Stacks
Contains summaries.

Australian Law Reports, 1973-date.
Contains full-text of selected cases.

  • KTA0.A1 A5 at Classified Stacks
  • LexisNexis: AUST: ALR. 1973-2010 (*must be signed in to lexis.com - NOT LexisAdvance)

Federal Law Reports, 1956-81.

  • KTA0.A1 A54 at Classified Stacks
  • WestlawNext at FLR-RPTS

Federal Court Reports, 1956-date.

LexisNexis: AUSCAS, 1977-date (*must be signed in to lexis.com - NOT LexisAdvance)

WestlawNext: Federal Cases, 1984-date

AustLII, 1977-date

Combined Courts

Australian Legal Monthly Digest, 1994-2002. KU11.A95 at Classified Stacks

LexisNexis

  • AUST: AUSCAS. Reported cases.
  • AUST: AUSRPT. Decisions from Australian federal courts and tribunals, and state and territory supreme courts as reported in Butterworths law reports.
  • AUST: UNRPT. Unreported judgments of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory, Federal Court of Australia, High Court of Australia, Supreme Court of New South Wales, and Supreme Court of Tasmania.

WestlawNext

  • AU-ALLCASES. Reported and unreported cases from all courts.
  • FCA-UNR. Decisions of the Federal Court of Australia that have not been reported in Federal Court Reports. Coverage begins with September 1999.

top


Statutory Rules (Regulations)

ComLaw, 1979-date

AustLII, 1979-date

top


Websites

Australia.gov.au

Australia's government website, on the topic of law and justice

Australia Attorney General

Attorney-General's Department includes a useful summary of the Australian legal system and AG publications

Australia: National Library

National Library of Australia, Australian Law: Selected Websites

Info Express: Australia

InfoEssentials, Australian Legal Resources

Australian Government Publications A National Library initiative, GovPubs provides explanations and sourcing for a variety of Australian government documents and publications.

Jade 3.0

Jade 3.0 is an Australian site offering up court decisions, transcripts, and digests, as well as access to some legislative materials.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout