You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Washington Rules & Regulations

Washington Rules & Regulations

Back to Free Law Online.
Updated May 12, 2014.

Washington State Flag

This guide identifies free sources for administrative rules and regulations issued by Washington State agencies, Attorney General opinions, and Governor's executive orders. HeinOnline and LexisNexis Academic are UW Restricted services. See also the Gallagher guide on Washington Administrative Law Research.


Washington Administrative CodeWashington Administrative Code

Commonly abbreviated as WAC, the Washington Administrative Code contains rules and regulations currently in force and arranged by subject. It is published every two years, with a supplement in the off-year.

  • WAC from Legislative Search, current.
  • WAC on the Legislature's page: arranged by title and searchable, current.
  • WAC Archive from the Office of the Code Reviser: PDF files, 2004 to date.

Washington State Register

Published every two weeks, the Register contains new regulations and amendments to existing regulations. It updates the Washington Administrative Code.

WSR from the Legislative Search: searchable, 1997 to date.

WSR from the Office of the Code Reviser: includes annual indexes (1997 to date) and tables showing WAC provisions affected by WSR entries (1997 to date).

top


Attorney General Opinions

Among the duties of the Attorney General is the responsibility to "[c]onsult with and advise the governor, members of the legislature, and other state officers, and when requested, give written opinions upon all constitutional or legal questions relating to the duties of such officers." RCW 43.10.030(5)

Opinions from the Attorney General's Office: from October 1949: searchable and grouped by topic. See also an opinion index covering 1975-2010.

HeinOnline: arranged by year; searchable; includes multi-year indexes; from 1888. UW Restricted

LexisNexis Academic: Browse > Country: United States > Region: Washington > Publication Type: Administrative Materials and Regulations > Decisions: WA Attorney General Opinions; searchable, from 1949. UW Restricted

LexisNexis Academic WA Attorney General Opinions

top


Governors' Executive Orders

Article 3 of the Washington State Constitution gives the Governor the authority to issue certain kinds of Executive Orders.

Executive orders from the Office of the Governor: arranged by date, from 2013.

Executive Orders from the Office of the Governor: arranged by date, from 1913.

top


Other Online Resources

Access Washington: Washington State's main homepage, with links to agencies, boards, commissions, and departments.

Find-It! Washington: a guide to Washington State Government information and publications.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout