You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Brown v. Board of Education: Websites & Books

Brown v. Board of Education: Websites & Books

Updated Feb. 11, 2013.
Prepared by Cheryl Nyberg; updated by Cassie DuBay (2013).

May 17, 2004 marked the 50th anniversary of the landmark U.S. Supreme Court case Brown v. Board of Education.

The following websites offer some of the best collections of documents, images, chronologies, and other resources related to the case. A list of books in the Gallagher Law Library on the case appears at the end of the page.


Websites

Brown Foundation

Brown Foundation for Educational Equity, Excellence and Research
A Kansas-based not-for-profit organization, established in 1988 as a living tribute to the landmark U.S. Supreme Court decision of 1954 in Brown v. the Board of Education. The Brown family and community leaders in Topeka, Kansas, established the Foundation to commemorate and document the activities and history makers involved in this historic court case.  Features an online exhibit, In Pursuit of Freedom & Equality: Kansas and the African American Public School Experience, 1855-1955.  Includes an interactive map of Topeka and an orientation handbook with a discussion of court cases and biographies of the participants.

Howard University School of Law, Brown@50: Fulfilling the Promise
Includes a thorough annotated chronology, biographical sketches, an extensive list of related websites, and legal documents (before and after Brown as well as Brown v. Board cases).

Landmark Cases of the U.S. Supreme Court

Landmark Cases of the Supreme Court, Brown v. Board of Education (1954)
Presented by Street Law and the Supreme Court Historical Society. Offers materials for use in the classroom. Includes key excerpts from cases and issues for discussion.

Library of Congress, American Memory, The Civil Rights Era: Desegregation
An online exhibit with images of documents and photographs.

NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc., Remembering Brown v. Board of Education
Discusses the landmark case and how current cases and legislation are fulfilling the legacy of Brown. Also provides links to other sources about the case.

National Park Service, Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site
Part of the We Shall Overcome: Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement project. Features photographs and commentary on the need for change, the players, strategy, the cost, and the prize.

National Public Radio, Looking Back: Brown v. Board of Education, School Desegregation Fight Ended with Landmark Legal Decision
A series of reports covering life before desegregation, Thurgood Marshall’s role, the Supreme Court’s deliberations, the impact of the decision, and modern day segregation. With commentary, interviews with participants, photographs, and audio files.

Seattle University Law Library, Brown v. Board of Education: A 50th Anniversary Exhibit
Includes short essays, photos, and links to related sites. Arranged by decade.

University of Michigan Library Digital Archive, Brown v. Board of Education
An online exhibit containing "documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present." Organized into areas of interest: the Supreme Court cases, busing and school integration issues, and resegregation. Includes an image gallery, bibliography, and transcripts of oral arguments.

Yale University Law School, Brown v. Board of Education Website
Companion to the book: What Brown v. Board of Education Should Have Said: The Nation's Top Legal Experts Rewrite America's Landmark Civil Rights Decision (2001). Includes a civil rights chronology, 1502-2000.

top


Books in the Gallagher Law Library

All of the following books are found in the Classified Stacks.

All Deliberate Speed: Reflections on the First Half Century of Brown v. Board of Education (2004). KF4757.O35 2004

Brown at 50: The Unfinished Legacy: A Collection of Essays (2004). KF4155.B76 2004

Brown v. Board of Education: A Civil Rights Milestone and Its Troubled Legacy (2001). KF228.B76P38 2001

Brown v. Board of Education: Caste, Culture, and the Constitution (2003). KF4155.B758 2003

Brown v. Board of Education: Its Impact on Public Education, 1954-2004 (2005). KF4155.B77 2005

The Continuing Challenge: The Past and the Future of Brown v. Board of Education: A Symposium (1975). KF4155.A2C6

Dismantling Desegregation: The Quiet Reversal of Brown v. Board of Education (1996). LC212.62.O72 1996

From the Grassroots to the Supreme Court: Brown v. Board of Education and American Democracy (2004). KF4155.F76 2004

Essays on the American Constitution: A Commemorative Volume in Honor of Alpheus T. Mason (1964). KF4550.A2D53 1964

Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States. Constitutional Law (1975). KF101.9.L36 v. 49-49A

Quarrels That Have Shaped the Constitution (1987). KF8742.A5Q37 1987

Race, Law, and Culture: Reflections on Brown v. Board of Education (1997). KF4155.A2R33 1997

Race on Trial: Law and Justice in American History (2002). KF385.A4R33 2002

Science for Segregation: Race, Law, and the Case Against Brown v. Board of Education (2004). E185.61.J145 2005

Segregation and the Fourteenth Amendment in the States: A Survey of State Segregation Laws, 1865-1953: Prepared for United States Supreme Court in re, Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka (1975). KF4155.S43

Silent Covenants: Brown v. Board of Education and the Unfulfilled Hopes for Racial Reform, by Derrick A. Bell (2004). KF4155.B38 2004

Simple Justice: The History of Brown v. Board of Education and Black America's Struggle for Equality (1977). KF4155.K55 1977

Thurgood Marshall's Arguments Before the U.S. Supreme Court in Brown v. the Board of Education (1992). KF220.C55 v.20

A Time to Lose: Representing Kansas in Brown v. Board of Education (1995). KF4155.W545 1995

The Unfinished Agenda of Brown v. Board of Education (2004). KF4155.U54 2004

What Brown v. Board of Education Should Have Said The Nation's Top Legal Experts Rewrite America's Landmark Civil Rights Decision (2001). KF228.B76W48 2001

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout