You are here: Home Legal Research Guides Alternative Dispute Resolution: Arbitration

Alternative Dispute Resolution: Arbitration

Updated March 1, 2013.
Prepared by Cheryl Nyberg (2009) and updated by Anna Endter (2013) for Prof. Alan Kirtley's ADR Seminar.

This guide identifies major print and online resources for arbitration. See also the Gallagher guide on International Commercial Arbitration.

Access to LexisNexis and Westlaw are restricted to UW School of Law faculty, students, staff and other subscribers. LegalTrac and HeinOnline are available to all Gallagher Law Library visitors and to University of Washington faculty, students, and staff [UW Restricted].

See also these related Gallagher guides:


Databases

Westlaw
In addition to sources described on the ADR page, contains the following arbitration material:
  • American Arbitration Association guides, model clauses, publications, and rules
  • arbitration awards and decisions
  • treatises on arbitration in specialized settings (China, construction, employment, international, and maritime)
Lexis In addition to sources described on the ADR page, contains the following arbitration material:
  • treatises on arbitration in specialized settings (labor and employment and securities)
  • arbitration awards and decisions

top


Books

The following is a partial list of books and manuals on arbitration law that are available in the Law Library. Some of these items are also available on LexisNexis or Westlaw.

American Arbitration: Principles and Practice. KF9085.V66 2008 at Classified Stacks

Arbitrator's Handbook. LexisNexis: The Arbitrator's Handbook

Arbitration in a Nutshell. KF9085.Z9C37 2012 at Reference Area

Domke on Commercial Arbitration, 3d ed., updated regularly. KF9085.D6 2003 at Reference Area & Westlaw: DCMLARB

Elkouri, How Arbitration Works, 6th ed. KF3424.E53 2010 at Reference Area

Labor and Employment Arbitration in a Nutshell, 2d ed. KF3425.N638 2007 at Reference Area

For more books, search the Gallagher Law Library catalog by these subjects:

  • Arbitration agreements, Commercial
  • Arbitration and award -- United States
  • Arbitration, Industrial -- United States

top


Articles

Articles and legal periodicals are available from a number of sources. In addition to searching  LexisNexis, and Westlaw, you can search LegalTrac and HeinOnline for articles.

LegalTrac

LegalTrac: A searchable index of more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, and bar association journals; some full text (UW Restricted).

Useful subject headings:

  • American Arbitration Association
  • Arbitration Act
  • Arbitrators
  • Commercial Arbitration
  • Commercial Arbitration Agreements
  • Labor Arbitration
  • Securities Arbitration

HeinOnline

HeinOnline (UW Restricted)

Try searching Law Journal Library for full text of articles relating to arbitration.


ADR Law Review Articles, Combined

All Databases > Topical Materials by Area of Practice > Alternative Dispute Resolution > Journals and Law Reviews

CDZJCR: Cardozo Journal of Conflict Resolution

DRJ: Dipute Resolution Journal

JDR: Journal of Dispute Resolution

JLR: a combined file of law reviews, bar journals, and continuing legal education materials

top


Organizations & Websites

American Arbitration Association University: Resources
Guides, Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) documents and reports about alternative dispute resolution in general, and about its application in particular areas or industries. AAA provides links to the laws and statutes from which ADR, both in the U.S. and internationally

International Council for Commercial Arbitration
A "worldwide non-governmental organization dedicated to promoting and developing arbitration, conciliation and other forms of international dispute resolution." Holds conferences in even-numbered years, publishes the Yearbook of Commercial Arbitration, and provides treaties and arbitration laws of many foreign countries.

National Arbitration Forum
Members provide arbitration and mediation services in numerous areas (automotive, commercial finance, construction, consumer, employment, healthcare, insurance, intellectual property, international, and real estate). Offers a weekly email newsletter and text of monthly and quarterly newsletters.

Permanent Court of Arbitration
Founded in 1899, now with more than 100 member states. "[A]dministers arbitration, conciliation and fact finding in disputes involving various combinations of states, private parties, state entities, and intergovernmental organizations." Provides annual reports, cases, rules, treaties, and other documents.

top

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195



Login | Logout